Body Text Size: A A
The League of Women Voters of Metropolitan Columbus


Democracy In Action

Event Info

Tuesday, May 9, 2017
6:00 pm - 8:30 pm

OSU Fawcett Center
2400 Olentangy River Road Columbus, OH 43201 map

Janet Jackson
LWVMC has chosen Janet E. Jackson as the recipient of Democracy In Action Award for 2017. 
Janet recently retired as president and CEO of United Way of Central Ohio, one of the largest United Way organizations in the country. Under her leadership, United Way is mobilizing the central Ohio community to reduce poverty. Prior to joining the United Way, Janet served six years as Columbus City Attorney and nearly 10 years as a judge on the Franklin County Municipal Court.
Democracy In Action is the premier event of the League and provides the opportunity to come together with friends, supporters, and community leaders to recognize an outstanding individual or group.
Winners demonstrate a long-term commitment to and a zeal for increasing the level of political activism and knowledge within the community.
Honorary Co-Chairs for the event include - Ann Pizzuti, Alex Shumate, and Jaiza Page.
Current sponsors include: Nationwide Insurance, L Brands Foundation, Honda of America, MFG, The Ohio State University, Morgan Stanley - The Edwards Group, Squire Patton & Boggs, The Robert Weiler Company, United Way of Central Ohio, and American Electric Power
Patron tickets can be purchased on two levels:
$500 for 2 tickets and a listing in the program
$100 for 1 ticket and a listing in the program
Individual tickets to the event are $75, and League member tickets are $50.
To purchase tickets by check, please mail payment made out to LWVMC to 6500 Busch Blvd, Suite 129, Columbus, OH 43229


Read more: Purchase Tickets Online!