Body Text Size: A A
The League of Women Voters of Metropolitan Columbus


Democracy In Action 2013

Wednesday, May 29, 2013

By Gloria Davis & Anne Nelson

DIA 2013 Past Recipients

The Metropolitan Columbus League of Women Voters Democracy In Action award was given to Senator John Glenn and Annie Glenn on Tuesday, May 14, 2013 at the OSU Fawcett Center with 175 guests in attendance.  Unfortunately, we found out 5 days before that the Senator was grounded in Bethesda, MD because of health tests and we learned that even Skyping was not going to be an option a few hours before the ceremony.  In good League tradition, we had back up plans A though D.  Although guests were disappointed in not being able to greet the Senator and Mrs. Glenn, everyone  understood.


New this year was a private reception hosted by Amy Pulles and Kitty Burcsu for representatives of our corporate sponsors; The Ohio State University, Mills-James, The Columbus Dispatch, Honda of America, Limited Brands Foundation, M/I Homes, AEP Ohio and The Crane Group, the Honorary Co-Chairs, Civic patrons and past recipients and their guests.    


Guests were entertained in the main ballroom by pianist David Tolley and enjoyed a delicious array of hearty hors d’oeuvres from Chef Adam.  Tables were decorated in red, white and blue to salute the League and the honorees.  A beautiful presentation.


The ceremony began with tenor Richard Blocker singing Fly Me to the Moon and Moon River. Amy  welcomed everyone and explained the  awardees absences.   Chuck White our friend and a past recipient, served as our Master of Ceremony.  He introduced a short video produced by Mills-James and Beth Taggart which is available on our Facebook page.  CLICK HERE


Our Honorary Co-Chairs, John F. Wolfe, Leslie H. Wexner and Connie Schultz spoke personally about their good friends John and Annie Glenn, highlighting their outstanding public service and stressing how they have worked as a team throughout their 70 years of marriage.  Connie focused on Annie’s role as a mentor to her and talked about Annie’s severe stuttering problem which she overcame in her 50’s.  Senator and Annie Glenn have made an impact in central Ohio, the state and the nation.  They are true examples of democracy in action.


Matt Habash, last year’s recipient spoke of his honor in presenting the award to Senator and Mrs. Glenn.  The award was especially designed by artist Aaron Buchholz and included an etching of the moon in honor of the Senator’s  contributions in space.  Chuck then read a personal statement sent from Bethesda that very afternoon from Annie and John.  They were so very sorry that they were not able to be with us and the Senator was most complimentary to the League and our work by recalling many League sponsored candidates nights and debates in which he participated.  Their statement is on our website.  At the conclusion of the ceremony we had a group picture of all the past recipients that attended.   Volunteer photographers John Poole and Phillip Martin captured the event in addition to a photographer from Columbus Monthly.


As always, we worked as a team and we couldn’t have done this without the following volunteers:  Scott Britton, Kitty Burcsu, Lucy Buzzee, Esther Conners, Barbara Crabill, Cathy Elkins, Elizabeth Grieser, JoAnne Grossman, Ellen Haider, Anne Hammerstein, Anne Hoke, Mary Kaul, Pat Larson, Joan Lawrence, Erin Michel, Barbara Muller, Karin O’Neil, Carolyn Piper, Carolyn Schoenstein, Kay Skopin, Danielle Smith, Beth Taggart, Brent Taggart, Kalitha Willisams, Chuck Wolfe, and Margaret Wright.