Body Text Size: A A
The League of Women Voters of Metropolitan Columbus


Betty Montgomery -2014 Democracy In Action Honoree

Wednesday, Jun. 4, 2014

Betty Montgomery

The 2014 Democracy In Action award was given to Betty Montgomery on Tuesday, May 6, 2014 at the OSU Fawcett Center with over 120 guests in attendance..  Betty chose good friends Jo Ann Davidson, Deb Hackathorn and James Tilling as her Honorary Co-Chairs. 

Sponsors included L. Brands, The Ohio State University, Honda of America Mfg., Inc., The Columbus Dispatch, The Crane Group & Loann Crane, and new this year, Cardinal Health, MacMurray Petersen & Shuster LLP, Columbia Gas, Vorys Sater Seymour & Pease LLP and Worthington Industries. 

The ballroom was decorated in red, white and blue and several guests wore their “I voted today” stickers from an earlier stop at their polling places for the Spring Primary.  The table centerpieces were red baskets of herbs with the colorful programs placed on the tables adding to the patriotic theme.  Guests were entertained by a flutiest and saxophone musician called Tower Duo booked through the Ohio State University music program.  Our eyes feasted on the beautiful presentation and the delicious taste of an array of hearty hors d’oeuvres from Chef Adam and his staff.  Phillip Martin snapped the photographs to remember including a group picture at the conclusion of the program with all the past recipients that attended with Betty. A photographer from Columbus CEO attended and pictures from the event will be included in a future issue. 

There were 12 tables of 10, six were reserved for Betty, her family and friends, the Honorary Co-Chairs, sponsors, and past recipients and six unreserved.  League Board and Development Committee members served as table hosts for every table.  They made introductions if necessary and thanked everyone for attending and supporting Democracy In Action.  They also helped determine who took home the basket of herbs to be planted. 

A short video of Betty’s childhood was the call for Amy Pulles to escort the guests to the stage.  Amy welcomed everyone and introduced Chuck White, a past recipient with WBNS 10TV, who served as the Master of Ceremonies again this year.  The Honorary Co-Chairs all good friends who had worked with Betty, shared stories of how they met her and the impact she had on them as a public servant;  serving first as a County Prosecutor, Ohio Senator and then as the first woman elected as Attorney General and the first woman elected Auditor in the state of Ohio.

Last year’s recipient Senator John Glenn asked his friend Jo Ann Davidson to present the award to Betty since he was not able to attend.  Betty graciously thanked the League and mentioned that she was a member during her time as a prosecutor and found many issues relating to her work in Wood County.   Her persistence, optimism and dedication to public service make Betty the 2014 Democracy In Action recipient.   

Thanks to the “village” of members who helped make DIA a success.  They made corporate follow up calls, stuffed invitations, wrote and produced media items, served as table hosts and greeters and were the face of the League to our guests.  They include Paul Bingle, Mim Brierley, Scott Britton, Lucy Buzzee, Kitty Burcsu, Esther Connors, Barb Crabill, Marc Glassman, Anne Hammerstein, Rosemary Hamrock, Sharon Harmer, Anne Light Hoke, Cindy Holodnak, Amy Irvin, Janyce Katz, Mary Kaul, Joan Lawrence, Donna Marie Lossing-Jones, Barb Muller, Eileen O’Neil, Dave Patton, Linda Paul, Amy Pulles, Carolyn Schoenstein, Kay Skopin, Beth Taggart, Brent Taggart, Margaret Wright, Stuart Wright and Elizabeth Grieser.